Call Us Now: +33 6 44 67 47 39
IRONMAN World Championships 2023: Pro qualifiers so far

IRONMAN World Championships 2023: Pro qualifiers so far

The IRONMAN World Championship at Kona (though the men will be at Nice, France, in 2023) is the event every elite athlete wants to win, but first they have to make sure they are among the qualifiers.

Historically at least (!) held in Kailua-Kona, on the west coast of Hawaii Island (‘The Big Island’), the race brings together the very best long-distance triathletes on the planet to compete for the coveted title.

The inaugural event back in 1978 was the brainchild of US Navy Commander John Collins and his wife Judy, with 15 competitors taking on the gruelling course. The first races were held on Oahu, before the move to the Big Island in 1981.

US Navy Communications Specialist Gordon Haller was crowned as the first-ever IRONMAN Champion, finishing in 11:46:58.

The COVID pandemic meant the absence of the Kona race in both 2020 and 2021, while the 2022 season saw the unusual situation of two IRONMAN World Champions crowned.

The postponed October 2021 edition took place in St George, Utah on May 7 2022 with Daniela Ryf and Kristian Blummenfelt taking the ‘2021’ Pro titles.

After three years, racing returned to Hawaii – over two separate race days – on October 6 and October 8 2022, with brilliant races won by Chelsea Sodaro and Gustav Iden.

(Photo by Tom Pennington/Getty Images for IRONMAN)

The 2022 Pro Men’s race saw four men inside the previous course record (7:51:13) time set by three-time champion, Jan Frodeno, in 2019. That title now resides with Iden, who stopped the clock (including a 2:36:15 marathon), at 7:40:24.

(Photo by Tom Pennington/Getty Images for IRONMAN)

In 2018, five-time IRONMAN World Champion, Daniela Ryf clocked a Kona course record for the women’s race, finishing in 8:26:18.

Popular Stories Right now

IMWC 2023 qualifiers

The 2023 IRONMAN racing season is now in progress, and below is the current list of names who have qualified for the 2023 IRONMAN World Championship. Previous IRONMAN World Champions receive a five year qualification Champion Exemption, and podium finishers (2nd / 3rd) from the 2022 race also qualify (2022 Podium Exemption).

In addition to the above, winners of the 2022 IRONMAN 70.3 World Championship will also receive an exemption / auto-qualification.

NOTE: Previous requirements regarding exemption athletes gaining their slots subject to completing a validation race have been removed from the latest IRONMAN Pro Qualifying Rules document.

PRO MEN (22)

  • Daniel Baekkegard (DEN)
  • Gregory Barnaby (ITA)
  • Kristian Blummenfelt (NOR)
  • Leon Chevalier (FRA)
  • Denis Chevrot (FRA)
  • Braden Currie (NZL)
  • Magnus Ditlev (DEN)
  • Jan Frodeno (GER)
  • Matt Hanson (USA)
  • Kristian Hogenhaug (DEN)
  • Gustav Iden (NOR)
  • Ben Kanute (USA)Deferred to Kona 2024
  • Sam Laidlow (FRA)
  • Patrick Lange (GER)
  • Steve McKenna (AUS)
  • Brent McMahon (CAN)
  • Max Neumann (AUS)
  • Mathias Petersen (DEN)
  • Mike Philipps (NZL)
  • Joe Skipper (GBR)
  • Rasmus Svenningsson (SWE)
  • Jan Van Berkel (SUI)
  • Bradley Weiss (RSA)
(Photo by Ezra Shaw/Getty Images for IRONMAN)


  • Ruth Astle (GBR)
  • Hannah Berry (NZL)
  • Daniela Bleymehl (GER)
  • Lucy Charles-Barclay (GBR)
  • Rebecca Clarke (NZL)
  • Sarah Crowley (AUS)
  • Gurutze Frades Larralde (ESP)
  • Anne Haug (GER)
  • Meredith Kessler (USA)
  • Taylor Knibb (USA)
  • Chloe Lane (AUS)
  • Fenella Langridge (GBR)
  • Skye Moench (USA)
  • Lisa Norden (SWE)
  • Laura Philipp (GER)
  • Barbara Riveros (AUS)
  • Daniela Ryf (SUI)
  • Penny Slater (AUS)
  • Chelsea Sodaro (USA)
  • Svenja Thoes (GER)
  • Sarah True (USA)
  • Michelle Vesterby (DEN)
  • Els Visser (NED)
  • Laura Zimmermann (GER)
KAILUA KONA, HAWAII - OCTOBER 06: Lucy Charles-Barclay of Great Britain (2nd), Chelsea Sodaro (1st) and Anne Haug of Germany (3rd) celebrate after finishing the Ironman World Championships on October 06, 2022 in Kailua Kona, Hawaii. (Photo by Tom Pennington/Getty Images for IRONMAN)
Photo by Tom Pennington/Getty Images for IRONMAN

When are the IRONMAN World Champs in 2023?

The IRONMAN World Championships will take place over two days (and two venues) in 2023 and in two different venues.

The women will on Saturday October 14 in Hawaii, with the men racing at in Nice, France on Sunday 10 September.

Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.